The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (Macmillan Collector's Library)

Author(s): Arthur Conan Doyle; David Stuart Davies (Afterword by)


Part of Penguin's beautiful hardback Clothbound Classics series, designed by the award-winning Coralie Bickford-Smith, these delectable and collectible editions are bound in high-quality, colourful, tactile cloth with foil stamped into the design.This collection includes many of the famous cases - and great strokes of brilliance - that made the legendary Sherlock Holmes one of fiction's most popular creations. With his devoted amanuensis, Dr Watson, Holmes emerges from his smoke filled rooms in Baker Street to grapple with the forces of treachery, intrigue and evil in such cases as 'The Speckled Band', in which a terrified woman begs their help in solving the mystery surrounding her sister's death, or 'A Scandal in Bohemia', which portrays a European king blackmailed by his mistress. In 'Silver Blaze' the pair investigate the disappearance of a racehorse and the violent murder of its trainer, while in 'The Final Problem' Holmes at last comes face to face with his nemesis, the diabolical Professor Moriarty - 'the Napoleon of crime'.


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Click & Collect

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's great detective showcases his powers in this first collection of stories

Arthur Conan Doyle was born in 1859. He trained to be a doctor at Edinburgh University and eventually set up a medical practice in Southsea. During the quiet periods between patients, he turned his hand to writing, producing historical novels such as Micah Clarke and adventure yarns including The Lost World, as well as four novels and fifty-six stories involving his most celebrated creations, Sherlock Holmes and Dr Watson. Doyle was knighted in 1902. In later life he devoted much of his time to his belief in Spiritualism, using his writing and celebrity as a means of providing funds to support activities in this field. He died in 1930.

Chapter - 1: A Scandal in BohemiaChapter - 2: The Red-Headed LeagueChapter - 3: A Case of IdentityChapter - 4: The Boscombe Valley MysteryChapter - 5: The Five Orange PipsChapter - 6: The Man with the Twisted LipChapter - 7: The Blue CarbuncleChapter - 8: The Speckled BandChapter - 9: The Engineer's ThumbChapter - 10: The Noble BachelorChapter - 11: The Beryl CoronetChapter - 12: The Copper BeechesSection - i: AfterwordSection - ii: Further ReadingSection - iii: Biography

General Fields

  • : 9781909621732
  • : Pan Macmillan
  • : Collector's Library, The
  • : 0.219
  • : July 2016
  • : 150mm X 93mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : July 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Arthur Conan Doyle; David Stuart Davies (Afterword by)
  • : Hardback
  • : New Edition
  • : English
  • : 736.98
  • : 376