The Possible

Author(s): Tara Altebrando

YA Fiction

What if ...no one knows the truth about you? It's been thirteen years since Kaylee's infamous birth mother, Crystal, received a life sentence for killing Kaylee's little brother in a fit of rage. Once the centre of a cult-following for her apparent telekinetic powers, nowadays nobody's heard of Crystal. Until now, when a reporter shows up at Kaylee's house and turns her life upside down, offering Kaylee the chance to be part of a high-profile podcast investigating claims that Crystal truly did have supernatural mind powers. But these questions lead to disturbing answers as Kaylee is forced to examine her own increasingly strange life, and make sense of certain dark and troubling coincidences ...Unusual and gripping, The Possible will twist the reader round and round as it hurtles towards a sensational climax. For lovers of We Were Liars, Patrick Ness and Derren Brown.

$19.00(NZD) RRP $18.99(NZD)

Available Stock:
1

Click & Collect


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Another twisty psychological thriller from the author of The Leaving - this time with a dash of supernatural intrigue added in. Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Patrick Ness

You will not sleep, check your phone or even breathe once you begin reading The Leaving. Altebrando hides a meditation on memory and identity inside a top-speed page-turner. I promise, you will not even look up from the page E. Lockhart, author of WE WERE LIARS on THE LEAVING This intriguing story will have you flipping pages until the very end Buzzfeed, on THE LEAVING 4 stars: creepy mystery about missing children returning home Heat Magazine on THE LEAVING This book gripped me on the first page, and by the last, had really moved me. It's a twisty, oh no she didn't thriller that keeps the surprises firing, but also a thoughtful meditation on memory, identity, and what really makes us who we are Bennett Madison, author of SEPTEMBER GIRLS on THE LEAVING As heart-stopping as it is heartbreaking, The Leaving layers a wildly strange suspense story over a lovely and unexpected narrative of grief, loss, and the struggle to imagine a future in the shadow of the past -- Robin Wasserman, author of GIRLS ON FIRE on THE LEAVING We are rushed headlong into Altebrando's The Leaving, and instantly we want to know: who are these wildly intriguing teens? Where are their memories hiding? Who or what has engineered the disappearance of their childhood? Bold, inventive, and engaging, The Leaving leaps straight off the page -- Beth Kephardt, author of SMALL DAMAGES and THIS IS THE STORY OF YOU on THE LEAVING This is no mere thriller; folded into this compulsively readable work are thought-provoking themes ... Teens who enjoy engrossing, contemplative titles such as Adam Silvera's More Happy Than Not will devour this insightful musing on memory and identity -- starred review School Library Journal on THE LEAVING A twisting, harrowing story ... Engrossing, both as a thriller and a meditation on memory - its limits, its loss, and the ways it deceives and constructs identity -- starred review Publishers Weekly on THE LEAVING

Tara Altebrando is the author of several middle grade and teen novels, including The Leaving and Roomies, an ALA 2014 Best Fiction for Young Adults pick, co-written with Sara Zarr. She lives in New York City with her family. www.taraaltebrando.com @TaraAltebrando

General Fields

  • : 9781408885765
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Childrens
  • : May 2017
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : June 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Tara Altebrando
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : English
  • : FIC
  • : Teen - Grade 7-9, Age 12-14
  • : 304